Interlude

Those of you new to my ramblings may/will be unaware that a few years ago I set myself the task of presenting a tune each day for the whole of my 53rd year. I began with Peter Gabriel and finished with The Ruts. I reckon I’d struggle to remember half of the 363 other choices, but they were all important to me at the time, and still will be. In fact, I sometimes return to be surprised by what I selected and what I wrote to justify each selection.

If you have a moment, you can start here and work your way through. (I think some of the links have since failed, so if you spot any, feel free to let me know and I’ll aim to fix it.)
https://fiftytwoyears52weeks.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/where-to-begin/

Sorry, if this is all a bit self-aggrandising/self-promotional, but I enjoyed that year and I was thinking about it again today after I heard one of my choices wafting over the airwaves, which in turn reminded me that I’d heard a song yesterday which I vowed to look-up (as I couldn’t remember the title or the singer), and then promptly forgot to do so.

Happily, I eventually remembered the tune and was pretty certain that it was a Bacharach composition (actually Bacharach and David), but had completely forgotten that the version I love is sung by Herb Alpert. I thought he was a trumpet player. Funnily enough, it’s the strings and piano that make this so special, I think.

In case you were wondering, the song which I heard on the radio… Not my usual kind of material, but this is, as they say, a belter. You may think otherwise, but you’d be wrong. Great strings, again.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started